Herb Chambers Infiniti Complaint Update

8/22/05 UPDATE: the latest on the Herb Chambers matter.

Just to keep you in the loop on my Herb Chambers Infiniti dispute, here’s the update. I sent along a “30 day letter” and copied some consumer advocates and a couple members of the Nissan / Infiniti management team in Gardena. I will keep you all in the loop on the response, if any. The duct tape part is the most fun.

—–
February 18, 2005

Herb Chambers
The Herb Chambers Companies / Herb Chambers Infiniti
1198 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02222

VIA FEDEX 7904 3200 0048

Dear Mr. Chambers:

I have tried diligently over the past three months to solve this matter directly with your service manager, Paul Dineen. The only response I have received to my letters of November 24th and November 29th was a forwarded e-mail from Mr. Dineen that had been authored by your Mr. Forero and entitled “letter from Ted”. While no solution was proposed, some of my key concerns were not addressed, and it contained several factual errors, the sequence of events was essentially verified by Mr. Forero’s letter. I responded to Mr. Dineen on January 5, 2005 asking him to propose a solution. He ignored me. I wrote again on January 12 with the same request. Again, I was ignored. Finally, I wrote on January 27th and was ignored a third time. Therefore, you have left me no choice but to pursue remedies under the law.

Under the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 93A, Section 9, I hereby make written demand for relief as outlined therein.

On or about the weeks of July 19th, September 13th and September 20th, 2004, the following unfair and deceptive acts occurred:

– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti represented that unnecessary repairs were needed in order to make the automobile operational;
– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti represented that unneeded repairs were necessary in order to pass the emissions component of Massachusetts State Inspection;
– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti represented that the vehicle was adequately repaired & test driven and ready for delivery when it was not…

– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti represented that the vehicle’s emission issue had been repaired, when in fact, they were aware that operation of the vehicle in its delivered state constituted a violation of state and federal emissions laws;
– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti made numerous false assertions about the vehicle’s parts and condition in order to justify additional repairs;
– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti used substandard procedures to install an OEM air intake system (including but not limited to the use of duct tape to seal the automobile’s fresh air intake cowling)
– Employees, agents, or representatives of Herb Chambers Infiniti accepted $x,xxx.xx for this work over multiple service orders;

These unfair and deceptive practices are, in my opinion, declared unlawful by Massachusetts Law, specifically Chapter 93A, Section 2, and by Federal Law, specifically section 5(a)(1) of the Federal Trade Commission Act (15 U.S.C. 45(a)(1).

As a result of your unfair and deceptive practices, I suffered injury or loss of money as follows:

– Unnecessary repairs on work order #68038 totaling $x
– Unnecessary repairs on work order #69229 totaling $y
– Unnecessary repairs on work order #69345 totaling $z

Therefore, I hereby demand the following relief:

A refund in the amount of $c, which represents the above service orders less $359.90 for a pair of tires that I requested.

Chapter 93A gives you the opportunity to make a good-faith response to this letter within thirty (30) days. Your failure to do so could subject you to additional damages, attorney’s fees and court costs when legal action is commenced against you.

Since my research has turned up numerous similar complaints against The Herb Chambers Companies / Herb Chambers Infiniti, I have copied the Massachusetts Attorney General’s Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation and Mayor Menino’s Office of Consumer Affairs so that they may separately make a determination under Section 4 of 93A as to whether an injunction against The Herb Chambers Companies is in the public interest.

This letter serves as your final opportunity to resolve this issue outside of a court of law. Further, it in no way limits my remedies to those described herein.

I look forward to receiving your response prior to March 23, 2005.

Sincerely,
/s/ Anthony Citrano

cc: Mark Igo, VP and General Manager, Infiniti Division, Nissan North America
Joy Murakami Crose, Vice President and General Counsel, Nissan North America
Diane Lawton, Managing Attorney, Mass. Attorney General for Consumer Protection
Scott D. Schafer, Mass. Assistant Attorney General for Consumer Protection
Patricia Malone, Director, Mayor’s Office of Consumer Affairs & Licensing

8/22/05 EDIT: For the latest on this matter, see: Herb Chambers update.

37 thoughts on “Herb Chambers Infiniti Complaint Update”

  1. thank you for this posting. sorry you had to go through it, but it helped me realize i needed to find another dealer. i am having trouble with their salespeople right now, typical con tactics, and I have decided to go elsewhere.

  2. I leased a vehicle from the Danvers Location and I asked the salesman to set me up with a three year lease which I thought was up this November(2005) but when I called the lease company I found out it was a 4 year lease. I called the dealership and was told thats it too bad for me…I coudn’t get the name of the person because he hung up. I would not have aggreed to the high price knowing it was a 4 year lease. Since I called I have had a recall notice several other problems, The Danvers dealership would not take my calls I have had to use IRA Dodge in Medford for repairs which have been lesser of the 2 evils (the problems that I brought it in for were not fixed properly). Can you forward this message to Herb Chambers or can you give me his email address I don’t believe he would go along with the type of sales service thats going on here.

  3. I leased a vehicle from the Danvers Location and I asked the salesman to set me up with a three year lease which I thought was up this November(2005) but when I called the lease company I found out it was a 4 year lease. I called the dealership and was told thats it & too bad for me…I coudn’t get the name of the person because he hung up. I would not have aggreed to the high price knowing it was a 4 year lease. Since I called I have had a recall notice & several other problems, The Danvers dealership would not take my calls I have had to use IRA Dodge in Medford for repairs which have been lesser of the 2 evils (the problems that I brought it in for were not fixed properly). Can you forward this message to Herb Chambers or can you give me his email address I don’t believe he would go along with the type of sales & service thats going on here.

  4. Whomever keeps posting comments as Frank Phillips, stop. You are not Frank Phillips – he explicitly told me the comments were not his. Either post anonymously or identify yourself.

  5. Whomever keeps posting comments as Frank Phillips, stop. You are not Frank Phillips – he explicitly told me the comments were not his. Either post anonymously or identify yourself.

  6. Pingback: The Cosmic Tap
  7. Pingback: The Cosmic Tap
  8. Hello all,

    I know my issue with the Herbs is not as severe as yours, but I feel as though there is strengh in numbers, and I was wondering if you could provide me with Herb’s email adress, I googled him, and found this website, and I am not surprised that I am the only one who has not been treated well. If anyone has any contact information for Mr. Herb, please pass it along to me: zeppgodd69@yahoo.com.

    Good luck to you all, and incase you were wondering this happened at Herb Chambers of Warwick, and this is in response to a letter published in the Providence Journal by Mr. Chambers about “dirtbag salesmen” you can view this article on projo.com (for free, if you registure with them for free).

    Dear Mr. Chambers,

    I am writing to tell you how a dirtbag car salesman changed my life. This dirtbag works for you. His name is Larry Schwartz. Larry refused to take a $100.00 deposit from me on 6/29/06 for a pre- owned BMW I was interested in at your Warwick location. I actually had an appointment to return with my son to purchase this car on 7/1/06. That morning, my son drove in from Amherst, Massachusetts, a trip of 2 and a half hours. When we arrived, Larry had sold the car, without the courtesy of a phone call to me. If this dirtbag puts a different spin on these events, he is lying to you. Please thank him though, since I then purchased a gorgeous Lexus next door to your dealership. I would be happy to speak directly to you at your convenience.

  9. Hello all,

    I know my issue with the Herbs is not as severe as yours, but I feel as though there is strengh in numbers, and I was wondering if you could provide me with Herb’s email adress, I googled him, and found this website, and I am not surprised that I am the only one who has not been treated well. If anyone has any contact information for Mr. Herb, please pass it along to me: zeppgodd69@yahoo.com.

    Good luck to you all, and incase you were wondering this happened at Herb Chambers of Warwick, and this is in response to a letter published in the Providence Journal by Mr. Chambers about “dirtbag salesmen” you can view this article on projo.com (for free, if you registure with them for free).

    Dear Mr. Chambers,

    I am writing to tell you how a dirtbag car salesman changed my life. This dirtbag works for you. His name is Larry Schwartz. Larry refused to take a $100.00 deposit from me on 6/29/06 for a pre- owned BMW I was interested in at your Warwick location. I actually had an appointment to return with my son to purchase this car on 7/1/06. That morning, my son drove in from Amherst, Massachusetts, a trip of 2 and a half hours. When we arrived, Larry had sold the car, without the courtesy of a phone call to me. If this dirtbag puts a different spin on these events, he is lying to you. Please thank him though, since I then purchased a gorgeous Lexus next door to your dealership. I would be happy to speak directly to you at your convenience.

  10. Hi all. I fell upon this website and felt I needed an outlet to express my frustration. I walked into Herb Chambers Saturn last Saturday to buy a car (my Jeep that had done me so well had gone down for the third and final time.) I had financing in place with Capital One (whom I have has EXCELLENT experiences with). The salesman George was the nicest man I had ever met and I felt that I had made the right choice to stop there. I test drove a 2005 PT Cruiser convertible and fell in love with it. The sticker price was below what KBB said the car was worth so I was ready to buy. Saturn is typically a no haggle but I did and was successful. All the trouble started when I got into financing. The finance manager (who was the most crass and classless person I have ever met) proceeded to go into a spiel about how they hate to take Capital One’s checks, they are do hard to get the money, and on and on. She thought I should try to go through one of their financing companies. Not one to be bullied or put up with crap, I proceeded to get into a verbal altercation with her. I explained that I WOULD NOT be going thorough their financing and would be using my own.

    As we left, the salesman stopped us and asked me if I was ok. I explained to him that I was so excited to buy my car but that she had snatched all the pleasure out of it for me. As it is now Wednesday and after many UNPLEASENT conversation with this women and one appointment were she showed me a picture of her husband (who is African American as a way of showing me that she was not giving me a hard time and relating to me I guess), the check has been deposited and I am waiting for the green light from Capital one to go get my car. My Herb Chambers experience was so night and day. The salesman and sales manager were exceptional but I can’t recommend anyone of my friends or family to go there due to the rude and uncouth finance manager.

  11. Finance managers are bottom-feeding scumbags – even when they aren’t at Herb Chambers. Make it a Herb Chambers finance manager and you’re truly talking to scum of the earth.

  12. Finance managers are bottom-feeding scumbags – even when they aren’t at Herb Chambers. Make it a Herb Chambers finance manager and you’re truly talking to scum of the earth.

  13. I totally understand your frustration with Herb Chambers dealerships. I made the mistake of buying my 2006 DOdge Charger from his dealership in Danvers, MA on Feb. 15, 2007. I had printed my own copy of the window sticker from Dodge and it was a good thing I did, because the car had no window sticker posted when I went to look at it. The only reason I bought it was because I compared the VIN on the car with the VIN on my copy of the sticker & they matched. A month later, the defroster stopped working (this was on a Saturday). I had it towed since I couldn’t drive it with no air to keep the windshield clear. I spoke with the service advisor about getting a rental & was told that I would have to be there (20 miles from my home) by noon in order to get it, instead of them offering to arrange it through an office 3 miles from my home. I was so frustrated I just said I would get there if I could, then complained through their website. I spoke with the general manager who said that he would arrange a rental on Monday morning. When no rental was provided (apparently they feel no need to completely honor service contracts) I waited until I got a call when my car was ready. The service advisor asked if I got the rental, so I told him that I didn’t. He then said my car was ready & I could pick it up any time until 8 that night. I had to explain that I didn’t get a rental, therefore I had no way of getting to the dealership to get my car. They did send a driver to pick me up at work, fortunately. I managed to get a ride to work that morning. Anyway, I sent a letter to Herb Chambers after that, addressing all of my concerns, the missing window sticker, the fact that the car had grease spots on the door that the salesman assured me would be cleaned before I picked it up and their not providing me with a rental, that is provided by my service contract, which left me without a car for 3 days. I got a response from the general manager the other day. He did say that they should have handled my service incident better. I was furious at his response to my complaint about the missing sticker. He said that the employees were simply being honest when they said that they didn’t know what happened to the sticker. They did order me a new 1 from DaimlerChrysler, but there is absolutely no way that a consumer should wait more than a month after purchasing a new car to get a window sticker, which is required to be displayed on the car by the Federal Trade Commission. I may be overreacting, but I feel that there should be no burden on the customer to get a window sticker. I would suggest that anyone do their best to avoid any Herb Chambers dealership. I should have expected this after the sales manager lied to my face, insisting that his obviously fake Rolex was an actual Yachtmaster, until I called his bluff & made him admit it was a fake.

  14. Those familiar with this website will be happy to know that the hubris at HC Lexus is on the scale of their new dealership in Sharon – big enough to have prevented a sale – and my ever having to deal with the issues mentioned herein. Thank you to all for sharing your experiences – I can see now that after having been lied to, ignored, and treated with condescension at HC Lexus; I’m actually better off than most HC customers.

  15. My wife bought a car from Saturn of Warwick and all was well untill we tried to use the extended warrinty. I told my wife to buy a GM extended warrenty but the jackass sales manager at the dealership told her it was cheaper and just as good to buy from a crap warrinty company. My wife and I moved and the car needed some work so i took it to Saturn of Hartford. DON’T ever use, them the warrinty made me pay first then we would get reimburst. The warrinty that Herbies pushed was crap the company had gone out of business. Herbies would only pay out at the end of the month and it took three months to get the months to get the money. The other dealership caused more damage then they fixed. I had to take it to indpendent garage to fix it. Thanks Herbie you and that jerkoff sales manager. I will never buy another Saturn or anything from you. BEWARE AND STAY AWAY

  16. I can totally agree with you !

    I have a very bad purchase at Herbchambers

    They chested and cheated, especially, the finance department is TRICKY!!!!!!!

  17. I can totally agree with you !

    I have a very bad purchase at Herbchambers

    They chested and cheated, especially, the finance department is TRICKY!!!!!!!

  18. I can totally agree with you !

    I have a very bad purchase at Herbchambers

    They chested and cheated, especially, the finance department is TRICKY!!!!!!!

  19. We have been searching for a used 2008 Lexus and were contemplating heading to Massachusetts to Herb chambers as well as a few others. After reading a few complaints on this site, we were hesitant to say the least but still had an open mind. That is, until we read the comments by the employees who were supposedly defending the company. You don’t prove your point of being a good customer service representive by slamming the intelligence or nationality of the customer. We will definately not include this dealership in our search for our used Lexus. Herb Chambers better do an overhaul of their employees if they plan to stay as big as they think they are.

  20. Not surprising…

    I had a very unpleasant experience with this dealership as well.

    I went in to the dealership on a Saturday for a scheduled test-drive that I had confirmed three times during the week. I hate it when dealership or companies in general abuse your personal information.

    When I spoke with a “Product Specialist” about the car I wanted to test drive, I honestly told him that I was not thinking of purchasing today, but in a few weekends when my family was going to be in town. Quickly, the attitude of the “Specialist” changed and he said he had to go speak to his manager about the test drive.

    Apparently, since I was not a customer of high enough immediate value, they could not help me, since Saturday is one of their “busiest” days. As I looked around, I saw 1 or 2 customers, with 4 “Specialists” doing something on their computers (they were not crunching numbers, a young “specialist” looked like he was just surfing the web).

    They told me to come back during the week from 9am-9pm, and I told them I had specifically set up this appointment week ago as my work schedule has been extremely hectic recently.

    I basically felt like if I had lied, I would have gotten immediate cooperation and they would have had no problems with helping me find the car I wanted. But because they were “busy” and I was not a customer of immediate value, I got treated like a hobo.

    This place should be avoided at all costs and I recommend looking elsewhere if you looking for an Infiniti dealership with decent customer service

  21. A couple weeks ago I brought Ford in to Herb Chambers for a Tune Up and somehow during that process my sunroof was mysteriously broken which will require 1500 to repair. How does a sunroof break during a tune up? They act like its unheard of for a car dealership to break something during a visit that will require the owner to spend more money for repairs. This may be the 3rd time they have lied to me since 2007 when I bought the truck. I will be shopping for another brand from another dealership in the near future. It is near impossible to get a staright answer from Herb Chambers regardless of what brand you buy.

  22. Herb chambers of Warwick is going down hill. They promise one thing. Then don’t keep their promise. I will never go back. Mario you need to live with it.

  23. Herb Chambers of Warwick sells lemons. Their general manager NEIL does not follow through with his employees. Lost my business forever.

  24. Warwick herb chambers employees are to busy eating the customers refreshments. They should eat before their start work. So they can help the customer instead of themselves. Will never go back.

  25. Warwick herb chambers Mario, Ryan, need to return phone calls. Just do your job. You meet get a customer to return.

  26. Herb chambers of Warwick advertising wrong. They just want to get you in. To only end up with a lemon……

  27. This complaint goes directly to herb. You have a crook working for you. By the name of gabe despres. He’s allowing a joe bates too borrow cars for absolutely no reason other than the fact he has no car. Joe used to work for your Audi store I. Burlington under your son George. The complaints are endless on your gm. He has allowed joe a non employee to take paper work to a elderly client who was unaware of what he was signing. This was done at his past job. I would hope that you look into this due to fact joe has no license.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.